Acne + Sensitive: Troiareuke Acsen A+ Cushion Review

1

Name: Troiareuke Acsen A+ Cushion

Type: BB Cushion, shade 23.

Amount: 13g/0.45oz (one refill)

Ingredients:

Water, titanium dioxide, cyclopentasiloxane, ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate, ethylhexyl salicylate, cyclohexasiloxane, c12-15 alkyl benzoate, niacinamide, octocrylene, zinc oxide, trimethylsiloxysilicate, peg-30 dipolyhydroxystearate, iron oxides (ci 77492), vinyl dimethicone/methicone silsesquioxane crosspolymer, peg-10 dimethicone, butylene glycol, sodium chloride, quaternium-18 bentonite, polypropylsilsesquioxane, dimethicone, calendula officinalis flower water, tea tree leaf water, centella asiatica leaf extract, madecassoside, iron oxides (ci 77491), iron oxides (ci 77499), triethoxycaprylylsilane, chlorphenesin, aluminum hydroxide, 1,2-hexanediol, adenosine, perfume.

Ingredient features: Niacinamide, calendula flower & tea tree leaf water, centella extract, madecassoside.

Not for those who are sensitive to: Titanium dioxide, zinc oxide, silicone, fragrance, etc.

Contents

  1. Summary
  2. Pros and Cons
  3. Shade & Coverage
  4. Texture & Smell
  5. Usage
  6. Claims
  7. Additional blab
  8. Where to buy
  9. More pictures

TL;DR

Summary

Feels I probably won’t because I wish to try other base makeup.
Does it effing work? Yeah.
Texture Thick liquid.
Packaging Cushion foundation.
Smell Has a faint powdery, artificial smell.
Finish Dewy.
Good for
  • People who want light to medium coverage.
  • MAC shade range: Probably NC20-NC25.
  • Dry to oily, as long as you don’t have a problem with peeling skin.

Pros:

  • Pretty long-lasting in cold or humid-hot weather.
  • Higher sun protection compared to other cushions.
  • Does not have a strong fragrance.
  • Comes with another puff.
  • Good ingredients for people with acne.
  • Somewhat sweat resistant.

Cons:

  • Only has two shades.
  • Not kind to dry patches.
  • Does not play well with Biore sunscreens. (my Watery Essence and Gel)
  • Not immune to creasing.
  • Hair sticks to it sometimes.
  • Not exactly a budget cushion.
  • The packaging is plain.
  • No refill ):

First Impressions

Shade and Coverage

5
What it looks like in the sponge

IMG_20170515_190124

Shade 23

IMG_20170515_190131

IMG_20170515_192900
Missha Signature Real Complete BB Cream 23 vs Troiareuke Acsen A+ Cushion 23

The Troiareuke Acsen Cushion has more yellow undertones than the Missha Signature Real Complete BB Cream. The Missha is only very slightly darker.

misshatroi
Both in shade 23
7
my mole before
8
my mole after
9
before: bare face
10
after acsen cushion (ugh my eyebrows here)

boo

Texture and Smell

This feels like your typical cushion foundation. It dries down quite fast, and it feels smooth.

It has a faint powdery, chemical smell, not floral or fruity.

boo

How the fudge do I use this?

I apply with a puff, after waiting 5-10min for my sunscreen (that is not Biore) to dry.

boo

What it promised us:

Product Claims How I feel
Korea’s No. 1 Skincare Cushion with 99% Skincare and 1% Makeup I can’t really prove or disprove this. Even if they were to give me the exact percentages in this formula, what exactly defines “makeup”? The pigment and sun protection?

boo

Additional Blab:

I’ve been using this cushion on and off for three weeks since around the end of April and here’s what I think.

First, let’s start with its ingredients. It claims it’s good for people with acne and sensitive skin types because of the extracts from calendula, tea tree, and centella. All of which are renowned for their antimicrobial properties. If you look closely though, it’s actually calendula flower water and tea tree leaf water, not the actual essential oil of dreams. I’m not saying that the water doesn’t work, but it probably doesn’t have as much as an effect as the oil itself.

As for its actual performance, it’s quite impressive with its lasting power. It  survived 30 minute brisk walks to work in the hot sun. Even after sweating from my walk, it easily lasted around eight hours more in my air-conditioned office. On one occasion after arriving home at around 8pm, I fell asleep in my makeup and woke up at midnight, to find that it stayed on despite my night death rolls.

I found that even with or without primer/setting powder, this cushion is gonna last like a Nokia Phone. Also, the powder usually does not help my flakes situation so I usually went without it anyway.

Although it does not fade away for hours, it isn’t transfer proof and can be rubbed off accidentally.

Around 2 hours in:

However, one thing that really bothers me about this cushion is that only minutes after applying, it creases and raises the face flakes from the dead. (Even after exfoliating and moisturizing!)

flakeforehead
right after applying too ):

With the worst areas being my forehead and eye bags.

11
left – bare, right – with troiareuke cushion

Other than that, it has rather good coverage even for one light layer. You can see that it hides my dark under eye area quite well.

Another issue is that if I were to use my Biore sunscreen, the cushion foundation would not set at all. It would sit on top of the greasy Biore like an easily wipe-able duck on water. So I tried it with my new Canmake Mermaid Gel and the cushion’s ability to set improved. However, it still did not solve the flakes problem.

All in all, I would wholeheartedly recommend this cushion to you if you sweat a lot or do not have a problem with your skin peeling. I honestly would’ve loved this otherwise.

My routine when I used this product:

Morning Night
CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser illi Total Aging Cleansing Oil
Secret Key Starting Treatment Essence (I bought another!) CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser
Dr. Jart+ Ceramidin Liquid Secret Key Starting Treatment Essence
COSRx Oil-free Moisturizing Lotion with Birch Sap Dr. Jart+ Ceramidin Liquid + Jason Vitamin E Oil
Biore Watery Gel / Canmake UV Mermaid Skin Gel COSRx Oil-free Moisturizing Lotion with Birch Sap
 Troiareuke Acsen A+ Cushion Dr. Jart+ Ceramidin Cream
Tretinoin 0.05% 3 times a week

Note: This product was sent to me from Troiareuke to try for free. This review is my honest opinion. I was not paid by Troiareuke.

boo

Okay, stfu already. Where do I buy this?

Btw, Troiareuke is a Korean brand. You can only find it online, unless you’re in Korea.

Official Site

Amazon: $40
Thank you for reading, please support my blog by following!
boo

More Pictures

Leave a Reply

