Results with Tretinoin – Retin-A 0.05% Tretinoin Review

img_20170117_185025
terminator in a tube

Name: Retin-A Tretinoin 0.05%

Type: Active, Cream

Amount: 20g

Ingredients:

(500mg) 0.05% Tretinoin, stearic acid, isopropyl myristate, polyoxyl 30 stearate, stearyl alcohol, xantham gum, sorbic acid, butylated hydroxytoluene.

Ingredient features: 0.05% Tretinoin.

Not for those who are sensitive to: Fatty acid, fatty alcohol, etc.

Contents

  1. Summary
  2. Pros and Cons
  3. Texture
  4. Smell
  5. Usage
  6. Claims
  7. Additional blab
  8. Where to buy
  9. More pictures

TL;DR

Summary

Feels Good results, but won’t repurchase as a cream.
Does it effing work? Yeah, but it transforms you into a reptile.
Texture Cream, not very runny but thin texture. Hard to spread.
Packaging Metal tube.
Smell Strong chemical smell.
Finish Matte.
Good for
  • Acne and aging problems.
  • Night-time use.

Pros:

  • Great acne and anti-aging treatment.
  • It’s in a tube.
  • One tube will last you a long time.

Cons:

  • Makes you so dry, your face will peel.
  • Hard to spread on the face.
  • Seems to sit on top of the skin until hours later.
  • Causes everything you rub on top of it to make it show up again like a slight white cast.
  • The smell is bad.

First Impressions

WTF does it feel like?

img_20170117_185319
white yellowish

It feels like a hard to spread sunscreen, isn’t very runny and isn’t that sticky. It leaves a slight white cast that goes away after a few minutes.
boo

WTH is that smell?

It has a strong chemical smell, and lingers for a few minutes.
boo

How the fudge do I use this?

There are two ways to apply this:

  • Apply a pea-sized amount to your dry face 15-30 minutes after cleansing.
  • Apply a pea-sized amount as your last step, 15-30 minutes after moisturizer to buffer the drying effects.

boo

What it promised us:

Product Claims How I feel
“Acne and photoaging treatment.” Yep, pretty much killed most of my pimples.

boo

Additional Blab:

Warnings:

  • Use sunscreen daily when using tretinoin, it makes your skin more sensitive to light. (photosensitive)
  • Use this at night.
  • Avoid air exposure (close your tube fast!).
  • Start slow (once a week).
  • Don’t place in a hot/warm place.
  • Don’t eat it.

When I first started using this, I over-exfoliated like an idiot. I read over a dozen warnings to go slow and start with once a week usage but I thought I could handle it and push through. So, I used it once a day for three days.

Face palm.

Here are the results of me being a moron:

overex
the itchy face of shame

On the third day, my face was itchy beyond belief and felt like glass. It felt like if I moved my mouth or eyebrows, my face would tear or shatter. All my products from cleanser to moisturizer would sting like a bee. Thankfully, I recognized the over-exfoliation and stopped using it for two weeks. My face returned to normal and I was nervous to start using it again. This time, I rigorously stuck to once a week for two months.

img_20160921_231352
not itchy anymore 😀

Then, I tested the waters of twice a week usage and peeled like a mofo but fortunately, no over-exfoliation. This went on for about another two months, where I upped my usage to three times a week. I have been applying thrice weekly since around November 2016 and so far, so good. I don’t think I would push it up to four times a week, since three times a week still makes me peel sometimes.

Here is a picture of one month of tretinoin:

ba
pimples be gone 😀

Tretinoin makes finding a good sunscreen hard, as it makes your face flaky. I find that the flakes are reduced when I use many hydrating toners + cream + small layer of Aquaphor.

Even though there are many claims that tretinoin smooths out skin texture and does other things, it hasn’t helped me with my rough skin texture (kinda bumpy), pigmentation, blackheads and large pores after 5-6 months of usage. The most it has done is remove pimples that pop up occasionally, and that’s fine.

My routine when I used this product:

Morning Night
CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser
Secret Key Starting Treatment Essence Secret Key Starting Treatment Essence
NARUKO Magnolia Toner NARUKO Magnolia Toner
Hada Labo Gokujyun Lotion Hada Labo Gokujyun Lotion
Dr. Jart+ Ceramidin Liquid Dr. Jart+ Ceramidin Liquid + Jason Vitamin E Oil
Biore UV Perfect Milk Human Nature Acne Defense Gel as spot treatment
Tretinoin 0.05% 3 times a week

boo

Okay, stfu already. Where do I buy this?

In Philippines, it is an over-the-counter medication and can be purchased at a Watsons pharmacy. In other countries, tretinoin is a prescription drug and can be obtained through a doctor.

Watsons: 700~ PHP
boo

More Pictures

3 thoughts on “Results with Tretinoin – Retin-A 0.05% Tretinoin Review

Leave a Reply

