The S.O.S Cream – Avène Skin Recovery Cream Review

IMG_20170115_202521.jpg
Clean packaging.

Name: Avène Skin Recovery Cream

Type: Cream Moisturizer

Amount: 40ml (Old version, New version is 50ml)

Ingredients:

Avène thermal spring water, mineral oil, glycerin, glyceryl stearate, squalane, cyclopentasiloxane, clycohexasiloxane, serine, carbomer, tetrasodium edta, triethanolamine.

Ingredient features: Spring water (??), mineral oil, squalane.

Not for those who are sensitive to: Silicone, triethanolamine, etc.

Contents

  1. Summary
  2. Pros and Cons
  3. Texture
  4. Smell
  5. Usage
  6. Claims
  7. Additional blab
  8. Where to buy
  9. More pictures

TL;DR

Summary

Feels Yay, might repurchase if on sale.
Does it effing work? Yeah.
Texture Light cream.
Packaging Glorious tube packaging!
Smell Faint weird Avène water smell. (???)
Finish Slightly dewy.
Good for
  • Sensitive skin.
  • Dry to oily skin.
  • Day and night use.

Pros:

  • Doesn’t sting when used over or under tretinoin, very gentle.
  • Absorbs fast.
  • Easy to use because of tube packaging.
  • REALLY minimal ingredients list (11!), so it does not contain a lot of acne/irritation triggers.
  • Travel-friendly.
  • Not much smell.

Cons:

  • Basic AF! Not moisturizing enough for me.
  • Expensive for so little and so basic an ingredients list.
  • Small.
  • Claims to be cruelty-free, but not in China.

First Impressions

WTF does it feel like?

It is a white cream that spreads easily but kinda feels like a gel, and isn’t runny or sticky at all. Does not leave a white cast or a greasy face.
boo

WTH is that smell?

It has this faint weird Avène water smell that doesn’t linger at all.
boo

How the fudge do I use this?

“Apply to the face and neck after cleansing with Extremely Gentle Cleanser Lotion. After use and before closing, remove any excess product around the tube opening. AM PM” – http://www.aveneusa.com
I used this cream twice daily after my Hada Labo Lotion. I mix in 2-3 drops of Rosehip oil into the cream before applying, because this cream is boring.

boo

What it promised us:

Product Claims How I feel
“Formulated with minimal ingredients for maximum tolerance” Yep. 11 ingredients only. I tolerate it.
“Helps reduce redness and irritation” Does help with irritation, redness not that much.
“Protects the skin’s barrier” The one it needs protecting from is me.
“100% sterile and safe” Well I slathered it on my face and didn’t die.

boo

Additional Blab:

I had bought this when I started my tretinoin use, and chose a moisturizer with a small ingredients list so I had a smaller chance of breakouts from my moisturizer. When I introduced tretinoin to my face, it decided to be a jealous bitch and make all other products sting despite once a week usage. This moisturizer didn’t sting AT ALL and helped keep the flakes away. This was used from 13 September 2016 to November something. I would’ve repurchased this as an SOS cream but there was a price and package change. (40ml > 50ml, now 34$)

It fulfills its one purpose well but for a stupid price and small amount. I would recommend this cream to people who are desperate enough to have a cream work for them that is occlusive but not as occlusive as Vaseline.

My routine when I used this product:

Morning Night
CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser
Secret Key Starting Treatment Essence Secret Key Starting Treatment Essence
NARUKO Magnolia Toner NARUKO Magnolia Toner
Hada Labo Gokujyun Lotion Hada Labo Gokujyun Lotion
Avène Skin Recovery Cream Rosehip Oil + Avène Skin Recovery Cream
Biore UV Rich Watery Essence Human Nature Acne Defense Gel as spot treatment
Tretinoin 0.05% 3 times a week

boo

Okay, stfu already. Where do I buy this?

Btw, Avène is a French brand. It has online stores in USA, UK and Australia, etc. In Asia, it should be found in a Watsons or department store.

Amazon: 34 USD | Avene Site

Thank you for reading, please support my blog by following!
boo

More Pictures

IMG_20170115_202531.jpg

One thought on “The S.O.S Cream – Avène Skin Recovery Cream Review

Leave a Reply

